Written 6/3/2024 for UNotes by Wally Banzhaf (1987 Larsen Award Recipient)

Every spring around commencement prior awardees of the **Larsen Award for Excellence in Teaching** honor the new recipient. This year on June 3 Professor Maria Esposito Frank was honored at Abigail's Grill and Bar in Simsbury. Nine prior awardees were able to attend and share with Maria the history and traditions of the Larsen Award. We were delighted that Christopher Larsen, son of Roy E. Larsen, attended and was able to congratulate the 2024 Awardee, Professor Frank.

The Larsen Award was first given in 1980, and is named for Roy E. Larsen, former President of Time magazine and a strong advocate for quality public education nationwide. Chris Larsen presented his book (*REMBERING ROY*, *A Visual Journey Through a Remarkable Life*) about his father to Professor Frank, and asked that she pass it on to future recipients of the Larsen Award.



Front row: Jack Powell (2011), Mala Matacin (2019), Maria Esposito Frank (2024), Chris Larsen (Roy's son), Lynn Kelly (1999), Regina Miller (2007)

Rear row: Wally Banzhaf (1987), Nicholas Ealy (2020), Fred Sweitzer (1999)



